A GREAT EDUCATION

Lately I show up at an unfamiliar place, hoping I am at the right location and find myself walking into a new Farm Credit office.  But no worries, it’s all a part of my summer internship as one of my responsibilities is collecting video footage of customers for a series of customer video testimonials. I am really enjoying this phase of my internship with Farm Credit.  What could be better than getting to travel to different offices throughout the Association and meeting new people? Although, I must admit when I began this project last summer the thought of showing up somewhere new where I would meet unfamiliar faces was a little intimidating. I can now look back and see how lucky I have been as I am always learning from the people I meet on this journey.

Farm Credit employees and customers have been extremely welcoming.  I never worry about having a dull day, with all the traveling my days tend to vary. One day I might be in Orange, VA meeting with customers who raise PBR bulls and the next day I will find myself in Chatham, VA talking with tobacco, beef and poultry producers.  What I enjoy the most is the variety of agriculture I get to experience. My high school agriculture teacher once said, “The best education you get in college is often what you don’t pay for”. I must say, Farm Credit has provided me with a great educational opportunity. I know there are few companies that offer their interns what Farm Credit has given me, the chance to see and learn so much.

Rebecca Winegardner is student at West Virginia University where she is majoring in Agricultural Education. 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment